Avocado Egg Dishes

My husband and I are new on the adventure to that magical state called Ketosis. So far, I’m actually enjoying it. We’re only on day 4- still plenty of time to get suuuuper bored with eggs and cheese and avocados and bacon… but since those are some of our favorite foods, I think there’s still time yet.

 

Keto Friendly Avocado Egg Boat Dish

This morning, I adapted an avocado egg cup recipe I found on Pinterest from Lil’ Luna. The end result was quiiiiiiite delicious, although the journey to a finished product took a whole lot longer for me than the 14-16 minutes listed in the original recipe. Maybe it was the way I adapted it. Maybe I didn’t hollow out my avocado enough- or the size of my avocado and the size of my egg could have been the culprit- who knows? Either way, here’s what I ended up doing instead, and what I would do differently next time.

 

 

 

To feed two people, you will need:

  • 1 large avocado
  • 2 extra large eggs
  • 2-3 slices of cooked bacon
  • cheese of your choice
  • salt and pepper to taste

I went with two slices of homemade thick cut bacon and a mix of horseradish cheddar and garlic jack cheeses.

Directions:

  • Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.
  • Slice your avocado in half (long ways) and remove the seed.
  • Using a spoon, carve out enough of the avocado to fit your egg. Then carve out a little extra, because you probably estimated wrong. (I did, and ended up with a muffin tin of overcooked excess egg underneath.)
  • Place both halves of the avocado open face up, onto a muffin tin to keep them upright. Otherwise, the little buggers will roll all over the place.
  • I prefer my eggs scrambled, so I scrambled each egg up with a little salt and pepper before pouring it (raw) in it’s little avocado port. You, of course, can do otherwise.
  • Shred your cheese(s) of choice and sprinkle (or pile it liberally) over the top of your avocado and egg.
  • Crumble or cut up your cooked bacon and add that on top.
  • Add a small tent of tinfoil over the top of your little masterpieces (This will allow the egg and avocado to cook without burning your  cheese and bacon.) and slide them CAREFULLY into your preheated oven. DON’T ROCK THE BOAT! Set the timer for 30 minutes and kick back and check your Facebook feed or enjoy an espresso with heavy cream and Truvia.
  • Once the timer goes off, remove your tinfoil tent, and put your little dishes back into the oven for another 10 minutes, to finish off the eggs, brown the cheese and grease up that delicious bacon.
  • When the last timer goes off, pull them out, plate them and enjoy! (After they cool slightly, or you’re in for a world of hurt!) I liked mine with a hearty dollop of sour cream and homemade pico de gallo. Sweet Chili Sauce was also delicious, but at 6 carbs per tablespoon, it comes at a high keto price.

* If, instead, you want to use a medium avocado, I would recommend using a large egg instead, and cutting your cook times in half.

 

The Faster Option

If you just don’t have 40 minutes to spare on cooking breakfast (because really, who does?) then I would pre-cook your eggs to a soft, nearly finished scramble before loading them into your avocado “dishes” and adding your cheese and bacon. Skip the foil tent, and cook on 425 for about 15 minutes.

 

Either way you decide to cook it- this dish is stinkin’ DELICIOUS and loaded with good fats and protein, with next to no carbohydrates. A perfect compliment to any keto diet.

Leave a Reply

